E. J. Wesley’s Top 5 Reads for Halloween

20121016-165917.jpg

1) Cycle of the Werewolf – Stephen King: First horror story I ever read. (Think I was 14…) Lost a lot of sleep over that one, and thinking about it still takes me back to the nervous feeling I’d get around Halloween as a kid.

2) The Harry Potter series – J.K. Rowling: You could always count on there being a good Halloween scene, and these books really capture the funner aspects of the holiday for me. (Friends, adventure, candy, etc.)

3) Something Wicked This Way Comes – Ray Bradbury: Man, is there anything scarier than carnies? lol Perfect example of a child’s fears realized by an adult’s perspective.

4) The Graveyard Book – Neil Gaiman: A book that is dark in the way only a child’s world can sometimes be dark. This one truly captures the spookier (less scary) side of the season, I think.

5) Pet Cemetery – Stephen King: Easily the story that has frightened and disturbed me the most over the years. Clearly, there is something fundamentally wrong with the concept of bringing back people we love from the dead, but it’s something I think many of us would seriously consider if given the chance. King makes us pay for the decision BEFORE we can put it into practice.

Check out E. J. Wesley’s book on Amazon:

If you are an author and would also like to be featured with your five favorite horror/Halloween books, email me at Luis_vera05@yahoo.com

4 Comments

  1. Oooo, great list! I’ll have to reread The Graveyard Book~ that opening scene is so freaky/horrible!

  2. Great choices! I still haven’t read Pet Sematary either. Sad, huh? But It still scares me on every reread.

  3. Oh, Pet Cemetary…chills. Definitely a good one, as is Something Wicked This Way Comes. I only read that for the first time this year, and I was amazed it had taken me so long to read Bradbury (I also read Fahrenheit 451 immediately before). Haven’t read that one by Gaiman yet, but will have to check it out.

    Shannon at The Warrior Muse


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment